Oracle Certification Program – Things You Need to Know


Oracle products and software solutions are used widely to streamline IT and business processes. Besides its database solutions, the company offers services,such as cloud solutions, engineering systems, networked storage services, and more. It has over 430,000 clients in about 180 countries, a workforce of 138,000 people, and a revenue exceeding $35 billion.

To support its business processes, Oracle offers certifications in six different IT specialization areas grouped into nine categories with over two hundred credentials. It is for this reason that IT professionals covet the Oracle certifications.

Overview of Oracle Certification Program

The company offers certifications in the following categories:

  • Applications
  • Database
  • Oracle Cloud
  • Enterprise Management
  • Industries
  • Systems
  • Java & Middleware
  • OperatingSystems

Each credential has six levels:

  1. Junior Associate
  2. Associate
  3. Professional
  4. Master
  5. Expert
  6. Specialist

Ideally, the candidates should select a certification path and then use the links below for learning about oracle certifications.

  • Applications and Cloud Certifications

The Applications category has over 60 different credentials in 13 product groups. Most of them are designed for the Certified Implementation Specialists –individuals who specialize in selling Oracle solutions. Recently, Oracle introduced the Oracle Java Cloud certification with seven subcategories.

The credentials in these categories validate the candidate’s skills in the deployment and administration, or in the delivery of Oracle applications and services in the cloud. However, most of the Oracle certifications are targeted at the Associates and Certified Implementation Specialists.

  • Database Certifications

The Database certifications are intended for the professionals who develop database solutions using the Oracle database. This category has three primary certification paths:

  • Database Application Development
  • MySQL
  • Oracle Database

Besides, Oracle has the OCA credential for Oracle Database 12cR2 and an upgrade option for OCP.

The most popular exams from Oracle are below:

Oracle Database 12c: SQL Fundamentals Exam 1z0-061

Upgrade Oracle9i/10g/11g OCA OR OCP to Oracle Database 12c OCP Exam 1z0-067

Oracle Database 12c: Advanced Administration Exam 1z0-063

Oracle Database 11g: SQL Fundamentals I Exam 1z0-051

Java SE 8 Programmer Exam 1z0-808

Primavera P6 Enterprise Project Portfolio Management Specialist Exam 1z0-567

NB: Oracle Database 12c includes cloud computing functionality in both Cloud and Database certification pathways. A revamped Oracle Database 12cR2, the latest version, includes in-memory management and multitenant architecture. Other improvements include the optimization of MySQL performance and storage capabilities to handle massive data sets.

Often, Oracle updates its Database certification exams whenever it releases a new version.If the current version exam is not available, candidates have the option of taking a previous version of the exam and updating it once anew version becomes available.

  • Other Oracle Database Certifications
  • Oracle Database Foundations Certified JuniorAssociate

Oracle offers this credential to the Oracle Academy candidates in university or college training programs. Certified Junior Associate (CJA) is an entry-level credential. It is designed for the individuals with limited experience in the Oracle Database architecture. To earn this credential, the candidates must pass the Oracle Database Foundations exam (1Z0-006).

  • Oracle Certified Associate: Oracle Database 12cR2 Administrator

Thecandidates must have either Oracle Database 12c Administrator CA, Oracle Database SQL CA, or Oracle Database 11g CA to attain this credential. Besides that, one must pass the Oracle Database12cR2 Administration exam (1Z0-072).

  • Oracle Database Implementation Specialist Certifications

The Oracle Implementation Specialist (CIS) certifications include Oracle Database and Tuning 2015, Oracle Real Application Clusters 12c, and OracleDatabase 12c. These credentials are designed for the professionals with experience in vending and implementing Oracle solutions. To earn any of these credentials candidates must pass one exam.

  • Oracle Industries Certifications

This category has over 25 individual credentials encompassing the communications, constructions, engineering, health sciences, insurance, tax, and utility industries. These credentials are intended for the professionals adept in the selling and implementation of Oracle industry-specific solutions.

  • Oracle Java and Middleware Certifications

Subcategories in this program include Oracle Fusion Middleware Development Tools, Application Server, Business Intelligence, Identity Management, Cloud Applications, Data Integration, Java and Middleware, Mobile, and others. The Java and Middleware subcategory offers all levels of OCP (Associate, Professional, Master, Expert, and Specialist). Also, it includes the Java Programmer, Java Developer, Implementation Specialist, System Architect, and Administrator credentials.

The Oracle Java category offers certifications in Web Services, Java SE, and Java Enterprise Edition. The certificates that require a prerequisite accept either the Oracle credential or corresponding Sun.

  • Oracle Operating System Certifications

The certifications in this category include Solaris and Linux for implementation specialists and administrators. The credentials in the Linux subcategory include OCA, OCP Linux 6 System Administrator, and Oracle Linux Certified Implementation Specialist. The candidates required to pass one exam to earn the Linux OCA and Specialist credential. To earn an OCP, one must hold both the OCA Linux 5 and 6 System Administrator credentials.

  • Oracle Systems Certifications

The certifications in this category include Engineered Servers, Systems and Storage.

  • Oracle Virtualization Certification

The Oracle Virtualization certification encompasses the Oracle Virtual Machine Server for Oracle VM 3.0 x86 version.

For Oracle Practice Tests the top Websites are



The candidates wishing to train for these certifications can get access to Oracle’s extensive collection of learning resources. The Oracle websitehosts hundreds of exam preps, virtual courses, instructor-led training sessions, on-demand training, and practicetests.

The test webpage contents the list of requirements (additional prerequisites, resources, or training). Additionally, Oracle Learning Paths is another excellent resource for candidates. Plus, it provides an exhaustive list of Oracle product-related job roles.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.